Searching for Cantaloupe

There are two things that people said to me in the lead up to my move to Melbourne.

One was about how miserable the weather was in Melbourne.  Although followed by a large amount of eye-rolling from myself, it was probably to be expected as Melbourne’s ‘four seasons in one day weather’ is a bit of a National joke.  But hardly a reason to throw my hands up in the air with resignation and stay in Perth for the rest of my life.

The other was ‘I hope you find what you are looking for’.

Yep.

Why do I have to be looking for something to warrant moving from one side of the country to the other?  Is it other people’s way of validating what I’m doing in their own minds?   Are they fulfilled enough that they don’t need to make these kinds of crazy decisions?  Or do they just never have these ‘delusions of grandeur’ and simply can’t understand why anyone would want to do such a thing?

I’m not sure, but I’m here to tell you that I am not looking for anything.  I just know there are other places in the world, and other things to see and experience and Perth doesn’t hold my attention anymore.  I don’t see anything wrong with wanting to move to a city that fulfils my creative side.  I have the right to feel alive and excited.  I could keep spending thousands of dollars constantly travelling to other places in the world to find awesome galleries and mad exhibitions, exciting new bands and big acts that never make it to the west, creative enclaves, and other cool places.  But there’s a place a bit closer to Perth and it’s called Melbourne.  And to me, it was just a practicality to move here.

Anyway, despite the threat of crappy weather and well knowing that I’ll forever having to be carrying a jacket with me, I’m here now and I have important things to worry about, like choosing a football team (apparently I could be de-friended for choosing the wrong one) and saying togs and cantaloupe.

Now that I think about it, I do need to find something…where to get good cantaloupe.

3 thoughts on “Searching for Cantaloupe

  1. Well hello !!
    Glad you’re happy with your decision… and there are some AMAZING jackets out there to be purchased and worn any day in the four season a day place 😉 I think you’re quite lucky to be able to wear them, I seriously cant remember the last year I wore a jacket, I have put one on, only to get too hot and not even leave the house with it, and it was a lovely one I bought thinking I must be able to use them soon!!

    Glad to hear you are well Michelle, and I think you can be original (sort of) and still cal them rockmelons !!
    xx

    Kind regards,

    Helen Malland
    Receptionist – Project Services
    Rio Tinto Projects, Technology & Innovation

    Rio Tinto
    Wesley Building: Level 1,
    93 – 95 William Street, Perth, 6000, Western Australia
    T: +61 (08) 9205 0200
    helen.malland@riotinto.com http://www.riotinto.com

    Technological Resources Pty Ltd Registered office 123 Albert Street, Brisbane 4000
    Registered in Australia ABN 12 002 183 557.
    This email is confidential and may also be privileged. If you are not the intended recipient, please notify us immediately and delete this
    message from your system without first printing or copying it. Any personal data in this email (including any attachments) must be
    handled in accordance with the Rio Tinto Group Data Protection Policy and all applicable data protection laws.

    Like

  2. Melbourne suits you just right , and I personally think you’ll have a great time and you’ll make the most of it even when all four seasons hit you in one day, you’re far more likely to appreciate than get frustrated. Xox enjoy

    Like

Leave a Reply

