Tulipmania

Back when GBTB was built, I made a visit with two of my besties and we checked out one of the conservatories. It was quite expensive at the time if I remember rightly, so we made the decision to go inside only one of them. I’m quite happy then at the request of dear Mum to check out both of them today.

First up is the Flower Dome, which contains plants and flowers from around the world.  The Tulipmania floral display is currently on show in this dome.  These Tulips are set against a Persian style backdrop where you can learn about the flowers origins in the ancient Ottoman empire (now Turkey) where they were first cultivated and its significance in arts and culture. The colours are just stunning – beautiful cremes against vibrant oranges, rich velvety textures to frilly edges beauties.

The rest of the garden on display is equally as impressive, one of my favourite parts being this incredible sculpture (of which there are many hiding throughout the domes)…

IMG_2324.JPG

And of course I can never resist a cherry blossom…

IMG_2419The Cloud Forest is filled with plants from tropical highland locations, the centrepiece of which is a massive mountain waterfall, around which spirals a suspended walkway, allowing you to glimpse the garden from above – just as if you were walking in the clouds.

Leaving the gardens behind via the little garden shuttle bus, its time to make our way to shopping paradise – Orchard Road.   Not that we have shopping on our minds.

On my last trip to Singapore, I found myself frantically tracking down the ice cream uncles I had seen lining Orchard Road on umpteen trips before, finally ready to try this mysterious ice cream bread sandwich. And once I had, I wondered (as you usually do) why the heck I had waited so long to do so. So this visit, it’s definitely on the list again and I’m going to see if I can tempt Mum into trying it too – especially after her brave foray into Black Sesame Ice Cream yesterday.  The deal is you can have a normal flavoured ice cream only if you have it in bread.  Otherwise you go the safe option with the wafer – you need to try red bean or sweet corn or the like.  She picks the fruit tingle with the bread and I try the yam flavoured ice cream.  The yam flavour is kind of like a watered down blueberry flavour almost – nice.

20160423_152223.jpg

With the sightseeing and food tasting out of the way, it’s time to head for those bird cage cabanas at the hotel to relax by the pool.  The water was chilly but there was incentive in making it to the edge of the infinity pool for a snapshot!  And chillin in the cabana with a beer was really nice.

Chijmes is one of my favourite places in Singapore. I just love the beautifully restored colonial buildings with restaurants pouring into the outdoors, alongside perfectly manicured lawns and hedges and twinkling fairy lights. In a busy city like this, spaces with the ability to make you forget the hustle and bustle are worth a million. We’ll check out another one tomorrow, but Chijmes is just absolutely beautiful.

This is Mum’s first time to Chijmes and I can’t wait to show her and she is as bewitched as me.  There are different cuisines and types of restaurant on offer from Japanese to Western and from pub dining to elegant restaurant settings.  Even just coming here for a sneaky drink is a great way to end the day.

We decided on Wharf Oyster Restaurant, which also did a variety of fish, burgers and other dishes, so it’s a great choice even if you are not a fan of seafood like Mum.  The service was prompt and very good and the food was great too – especially the Black Sesame Brulee.  OMG I’ve never tasted anything so luxurious – if you get the chance it’s something not to miss.

bsb

To learn about the history of Chijmes, check out my earlier post here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

